4 more years in Lanka

The way I’ve planned my life. Where i finish school this year. Go to Uni in September and finish 4 years later. Then from there. I’ve decided. I’m not coming back to Sri Lanka.
I was born and raised here. Lived the best times here and im proud to be Sri Lankan. But when it comes to the future. There is none here.
Dad came back from London after finishing his studies. He could have easily gotten a job there and by now reached a very high executive level. But instead he came back and is suffering for that decision. A decision he regrets.
I don’t want to make that mistake. I want to make sure that my life continues. Its not that it wont here. Its just that it wont get far.

7 thoughts on “4 more years in Lanka

  1. I stumbled on your blog while checking out another recently discovered website – kottu.org. I’m one of the many children born to parents who left SL in the late seventies. I know that from the inside out, you probably see the rest of the world as being much more advanced and opportunity-filled than the one you are in. I don’t doubt that there is some truth to that. I just think it’s quite ironic that while there’s a whole lot of you dying to get out of Sri Lanka – there’s an equally large population of us wishing our parent’s had never left, despite all the political chaos. A case of greener pastures, i suppose.

  2. I was born and raised here. Lived the best times here and im proud to be Sri Lankan. But when it comes to the future. There is none here.

    Finally talking like the fart you are.

  3. soulsysta = each to his/her own

    does it matter = its true in a way. yes some people come back here maybe cause life is somewhat easier and better but then again. they do complain about it.

  4. Life’s generally a bitch whereever you are:)…good luck with the move but to be honest it might be able to make such a earthshattering pronouncement without having lived for extended periods in foreign climes. I’ve spent 10 years across the US and UK and I’m ready to head home!

Leave a Reply

